Moss Street Paint In 2010: Johnson Street Bridge Painting

Photo in Sunday's edition of the Times Colonist, taken by Debra Brash

Wow! This year’s Moss Street Paint-In was fantastic, and I felt honoured to be a part of this great event once again! Originally, I had planned to be working on a painting of the Craigdarroch Castle for the day, but I ended up working on a piece I already have in progress: the Johnson Street Bridge.

Paintings on display at the 2010 Moss Street Paint In (from left to right): "Fisgard Lighthouse- 150th Anniversary"; "Pagliacci's" (limited edition giclee); "Glenlyon Norfolk School- Coach House", and "Johnson Street Bridge" (in progress). All images and artwork copyright 2010 by Martin Machacek.

Some of you will remember that I started this painting nearly a year ago, for the Local Colour 2009 event. However, due to multiple commissioned pieces that I was working on during autumn and winter, the painting sat untouched for many months, until very recently.

I like to think of the Johnson Street Bridge as the Eiffel Tower of Victoria. People seem to be very divided on the aesthetic appeal of the bridge (among other issues), but its position as a local landmark cannot be denied. Resuming my painting of the Blue Bridge now feels very timely– especially with the fate of the bridge still uncertain. I am amazed at what a conversation piece the painting has become already, even though it has not been completed yet. I received incredible feedback during the Paint-In yesterday, and the photo that was featured in today’s Times Colonist newspaper has generated even more interest in the piece.

At the Local Colour event in September 2009

As an artist, I am obviously passionate about all of the paintings I create, but I find that I am particularly enamoured with the Johnson Street Bridge painting. At the present time, I am not sure whether I will be placing the original painting up for sale when it is finished or not. However, I will be making 8″ x 10″ photographic prints, limited edition 12″ x 16″ posters, and greeting cards of the completed image. If you would like to be notified by e-mail when reproductions are available, please leave a comment below or e-mail me. Names will be added to a wait list for the numbered limited edition posters on a first-come, first-serve basis.

My wife, Dana, at the booth for the Moss Street Paint-In

Thank you so much for your feedback and for the overwhelmingly positive response to my painting! Once again, I sincerely appreciate your support.

— Marty

~ by martycultural on July 18, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
