Kunamokst Mural Mosaic- Revealed!

This is a very belated post in the midst of some big changes taking place. (My wife and I are in the process of moving to a new house– one that will afford me an actual studio space– but moving is a lot of work! Thank you to everyone for your continued patience: I hope to be posting updates more regularly.)

In February, I had the great privilege to be in West Vancouver when the completed Kunamokst Mural Mosaic was finally revealed. The unveiling coincided with the 2010 Winter Olympic Games in Vancouver, so it was great to get over to the mainland and to take in some of the festivities!

The Olympic cauldron, photographed through a tiny hole in the very controversial chain-link fence barrier

I did not realize beforehand that the unveiling event was intended primarily for the participating artists, so I was pleasantly surprised to find myself in the company of dozens of co-artists when the curtain fell down the face of the mural!

The Kunamokst Mural Mosaic!

As expected for a mural with a ‘west coast’ theme, the Kunamokst Mural Mosaic depicts a mother and calf orca whale pair. My panel, #102, comprises part of the back of the mother whale.

Standing beneath my completed panel, the SS Beaver

Words cannot fully describe what it was like to see the mural in person. I have always admired the comprehensive and interactive website for the mural mosaics (www.muralmosaic.com), but seeing the completed 12′ x 20′ mural right in front of me was something different entirely! Getting to admire the brushstrokes and textures of all of the other pieces was an exhilarating experience, and I was also humbled to meet the creators and producers of the mural mosaic projects– in particular, Lewis Lavoie, Paul Lavoie, and Phil Alain.

Close-up of the baby orca

The mural will eventually find a permanent home in the hotel lobby on Galiano Island, so I encourage any visitors to stop by and see it! As I say, nothing is quite like seeing the mural up close and in person. I am so thankful to have been a part of this process and to have been there for the unveiling. What an opportunity!

Describing my experience with the mural to reporters from Shaw TV

~ by martycultural on March 15, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
