News and Updates: September 2009

One of the many sunsets, seen from my booth this summer at the Victoria Harbour downtown

One of the many sunsets, seen from my booth this summer at the Victoria Harbour downtown

It has been an incredibly busy summer for me down at the Victoria Harbour. Victoria had one of the warmest and driest summers in over seven decades, and that meant there were precious few days off in July and August! It was a wonderful experience, being able to interact face-to-face with people and to get direct feedback about my artwork– quite different from displaying in a venue and wondering how my paintings were being received. Thank you once again to everyone who stopped by, talked with me, and brought others to see my booth. As always, your support is invaluable.

Most of the work on this painting of Glenlyon Norfolk School has been done outside as part of my painting demonstrations.

Most of the work on this painting of Glenlyon Norfolk School has been done outside during painting demonstrations.

Now that September is here and the Labour Day weekend has passed, I will be down on the causeway much less (still weather permitting), and I will focus on creating original paintings once again. (I will set up at the Harbour intermittently throughout September but will most likely take a break from October to next April.) There are many pieces that I have been itching to create this year, but it has simply not been possible to fit everything in to my already busy Harbour schedule. Hopefully the cooler weather will help to ease me back into my regular studio practice!

Glenlyon Norfolk School II: closer to completion

Glenlyon Norfolk School II: closer to completion

As a final note, as of early September, I am no longer displaying original paintings at the Artevo Gallery in Victoria. My pieces can still be viewed on my main website: www.martycultural.com, and many of them can also be seen in person and purchased at the Blue Fox Cafe further up Fort Street in Victoria. Please contact me directly with any questions. Thank you!

–Marty

~ by martycultural on September 8, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
