New Tree Paintings

I am focusing on creating new tree paintings for the first part of 2009, and so far, a few pieces have been completed and several more are in progress and nearing completion.

Previously, my tree series highlighted trees from the Kananaskis area (where I lived most of my life) and thus featured mostly Limber Pines. This time, in honour of my relatively new home on the island, I have created two new pieces of a gorgeous Alpine Fir tree on one of my favourite local hikes, Jocelyn Hill:

Alpine Fir on Jocelyn Hill, 2009

Alpine Fir on Jocelyn Hill, 2009 (Image copyright Martin Machacek 2009)

Alpine Fir on Jocelyn Hill- Study, 2009

Alpine Fir on Jocelyn Hill- Study, 2009 (Image copyright Martin Machacek 2009)

This tree overlooks the Finlayson Arm near the Malahat in the Gowlland Tod Provincial Park. Both paintings depict the same tree and only differ in size and slightly in perspective.

I am also working on an extensive collection of paintings of a gloriously tangled tree on Hat Creek Road in the Cache Creek area of British Columbia. These paintings will feature the same tree on different sizes of canvas and custom-shaped wood throughout different seasons. This series should be finished within the next few weeks, at which point I will post them onto my website for viewing and sale.

–Marty

~ by martycultural on February 27, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
