Looking Ahead to 2009

Happy New Year! I hope everybody had a warm and restful holiday season and that 2009 has started off well!

After a busy month of completing numerous holiday commissions, I am starting to plan the year ahead and to narrow my infinite sources of inspiration down to several basic categories– no easy task! My studio is jam-packed with drawings and sketches that are close to becoming paintings, and my photo albums from my travels boast a sea of Post-It flags, each marking a building or nature scene that begs to be painted! 🙂

After careful consideration, I have decided to concentrate my artistic efforts on the following series for the upcoming year:

1. Trees

2. Czech Republic scenes

3. Lighthouses

Of course, I will still gladly accept commissions for any sort of custom painting throughout the year, but my own series of paintings will be driven by these themes in 2009 (if everything goes according to plan!).

In the meantime, please enjoy some photos of a few of the commissions that were completed as gifts for the holidays. All the best for 2009!

–Marty

Inglewood neighbourhood, Calgary AB

House 2018: Inglewood neighbourhood, Calgary AB

Sooke, BC

"Spooky" House 1997: Sooke, BC

Disneyland, California, U.S.A.

Sleeping Beauty Castle: Disneyland, California, U.S.A.

All images are copyright Martin Machacek, 2008-2009.

~ by martycultural on January 9, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
